top of page
Search
Zoe Coleman

Assignment 1: What is the best sport to watch?

What is my favorite sport to watch? This can be a loaded question for someone who has played multiple sports over the years. With transitioning from being a student-athlete, to now an Assistant Sports Information Director, my horizon of knowledge has expanded tremendously in the span of one year.


ICE HOCKEY


Family Roots

What makes ice hockey stand out? To me, the sport goes back further than my athletic career. Every friday growing up my dad would take my brother, sister, mom and I, to a Providence Bruins game. This sport has been rooted within our family bonds for longer than I can remember. It became more than watching a game, it was a beginning of quality time, distraction from the chaos that life can bring, and experiencing pure enjoyment.


I fell in love with the sport although having never played because of how it made me feel. Walking into a rink with the anticipation of the puck drop... taking bets on how many fights will take place... buying fried dough and only eating half just because it was something I used to do when growing up with my siblings.


Broadcasts

Before television there was radio. Broadcasters had to learn how to describe a fast-paced game and paint a picture for listeners. Not only is hockey my favorite sport to watch, but it's a sport I enjoy listening to. The passion in the arena is transpired with one to two announcers in a press box above the ice, carrying the weight of the game for those at home, in the car, or even at work.


Playoff hockey is an entirely different battle, and I hold so much respect for those who work those events, and play the sport. The camaraderie on and off the ice is entertainment in itself in my personal opinion.


Sense of Pride

In all honesty, my favorite part of ice hockey, is the pre-game ritual. To me, there is no better feeling than being at a game, and listening to the national anthem. There is never a shortage of chills, or hair that stands up on the back of my neck or arms. I feel a sense of Pride before each game for myself, my family, the sport of hockey, and the freedom that is given to us Americans each and every day.

3 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page